The Whole30 Challenge

Well, after taking the advice of my functional medicine doctor, my chiropractor, the “Eat Right 4 Your Type” book, and a good friend; I have decided to embark on a 30-day challenge called Whole30, in which I will eat only whole real food.  This means no dairy, grains (even gluten-free), legumes, carrageenan, MSG or sulfites, white potatoes, alcohol, or added sugar of any kind, real or artificial.  I can eat real food – meat, seafood, eggs, tons of vegetables, some fruit, and plenty of good fats from fruits, oils, nuts and seeds.  Why the heck am I doing this?  Well, I’ve had some health challenges and issues over the years including: daily headaches/migraines, chronic pelvic pain, digestive issues, constipation, fatigue/exhaustion, hypothyroidism, and not to mention my body tried to kill me two years ago when I grew a softball-sized soft tissue sarcoma called a desmoid tumor (aggressive fibromatosis) in my left abdominal wall.  Needless to say, I’ve felt pretty crummy for the past several years.  I don’t really remember feeling healthy since high school and I just turned 29 years old.  So, I am grabbing the bull by the horns, or more like grabbing the veggies and animal meat, and I am ready to commit to the next 30 days, with the hope that I will feel better and notice improvements in my body.

My goal is to document the good and the bad, the mistakes and triumphs, and to have a little fun along the way as well.

If you are interested in learning more about The Whole30, I would recommend checking out the book “It Starts With Food” by Dallas & Melissa Hartwig and also check out their website – http://www.whole9life.com/2013/08/the-whole30-program/

In health & healing,

Laura

4 thoughts on “The Whole30 Challenge

  1. Laura when my friend started juicing she broke out terribly. Something about your body detoxing. anyway I had to go look at your blog because I thought you werent posting. I am following you so I thought that meant the posts would come to me and they arent hmm

    • Wow, Kathy! I can believe that. Now that you mention it, my face has broken out just a little since I started. I’m sorry that you are not getting alerted about new posts. I think there is a way to sign up to receive email notification when a new post is added, but I don’t remember how.

Leave a Reply

