Day 2 – Oops!

I was ready to eat when I woke up!  Feed Me Seymour!  Breakfast this morning consists of Paleo Pumpkin Chai loaf (no sweeteners, no flour) topped with coconut butter and a few slices of turkey bacon (no nitrates, hormones, etc).

Image

It was delicious…delicious until I found out it is not Whole30 approved.  <cue sad trombone music>  My friend, whom I now think of as my Whole30 Yoda, sent me some links from the Whole30 website, which talks about how you are not supposed to bake any breads, cookies, muffins, etc; even if using approved ingredients.  Also, you cannot have bacon if added sugar is in the ingredients, which my was.  Tricky people!  The nutrition facts show 0 grams of sugar, but the ingredients list it.  They put sugar in bacon?!  Who new?  Well, better to find out sooner rather than later.  Here are those links if anyone wants to read more about this:

http://www.whole9life.com/2013/06/the-official-can-i-have-guide-to-the-whole30/

http://www.whole9life.com/2011/10/sex-with-your-pants-on/

Well, can’t dwell in the past, must press onward. 

Lunch – Leftover Pumpkin Soup

Image

Dinner – Apple Pork Chops on a bed of Spinach

I sliced up two apples and put them in the blender, added cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger, and blended until it looked like apple sauce.  I poured this in the crock-pot.  I put two frozen bone-in pork chops in the crock-pot.  I diced up two more apples and put those on top of the pork chops and sprinkled with more spices on top.  I left it on high all day, but now realize that was not such a great idea, as the outsides burned…

ImageImage

I usually sear my meat on both sides before I place it in the crock pot, but forgot today.  I think the meat tastes better when you do sear it.  I will remember that next time.  Also, I will leave the crockpot on low so that I can eat more of the yummy apples next time.  Live and learn.  Overall, it was pretty good.  I put it on top of some spinach to get some leafy greens in for the day.  I also realized afterwards that my meal did not have any healthy fats in it, so I ate a spoonful of coconut butter with it. 

Symptoms – today, I felt tired, a little achy, and my energy high from yesterday is gone.  I realize this is part of the detox.  I took it easy and didn’t do anything too strenuous today.  This too shall pass.  I did hide a post on facebook about recipes for cookies so I didn’t have to look at it for too long.  A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.  Right now I hear manager Jimmy Dugan from “A League of Their Own” telling me “It’s supposed to be hard!  If it wasn’t hard, everyone would do it.  The hard…is what makes it great!”

Well, made some mistakes today, but learned from them as well.  Maybe I need to make this a Whole32 to make up for my boo boos.  Will continue to press forward.  🙂

Leave a Reply

