Day 4 – A Little Better!

Still having trouble getting up this morning and feeling a little flu-ish, but better than I was last night.  Yikes, that was bad.  The low carb-flu is real people! 

Interestingly enough, last night I dreamed about eating dessert.  I specifically remember sitting at a table with many desserts: doughnuts, cookies, chocolate cake, etc.  Then I dreamed about McDonald’s food.  This is crazy!  I haven’t had McDonald’s in probably 2 years or more.  The last time I had a doughnut was probably over a year ago as well.  Where is this coming from?  I was happy to see in the Whole30 newsletter that this is normal for day 4.  Man, it is amazing to me how much food affects your thoughts and behaviors (and I was gluten/dairy-free for 6 months before doing this!).  I have never dreamed about stuff like this on any of my previous cleanses.  Very interesting and strange.

My mom was a little freaked out when I told her about my flu-like symptoms.  She thinks that if I am not feeling better soon I should stop and go back to my old way of eating.  I do admit, I miss my green smoothies.  I told her that this is all normal and part of the detox, and it should get better after the first week.

Breakfast – Ground Pork and Veggie Hash

I cooked some plain ground pork that I bought from a local organic farmer.  I added the shredded zucchini and sweet potatoes, as well as the diced green apple I had leftover.  I also put in some coconut butter and topped with cinnamon.  This made about three meals, so I will have leftovers for a few days.  It was good.  I have found that it is hard for me to get in enough calories with this style of eating.  I have found that if I do not eat enough fat, I will get hungry again 1-2 hours after eating.  It was hard for me to finish off my bowl of breakfast, but I did.

 Image

Lunch – Leftover Pumpkin Soup.  It’s all gone now.  Will have to brainstorm some lunch ideas for tomorrow.  Maybe a salmon salad?

Dinner – Zucchini Lasagna

Image

I have been wanting to swap pasta for zucchini and use my mandolin slicer, so this was a good way to do both.  I sliced up 4 zucchini this morning as well as cleaned and cut my broccoli that I did not have energy for yesterday.  I have decided to take advantage of my energy while I have it.  I got this recipe from the cookbook Everyday Paleo by Sarah Fragoso.  It is called Hasta La Vista Pasta Lasagna.  Here is a link to the recipe: http://www.drkehres.com/2011/08/recipe-hasta-la-vista-pasta-lasagna.html

It turned out alright.  I added fresh mushrooms (because I love them so!) as well as chopped a lot of fresh spinach up and threw that in (I need my leafy greens).  I think the recommended 5-6 Zucchini’s is too much.  I would probably only recommend 3 or 4 at the most.  It was very messy and hard to eat the long zucchini pieces.  I had to cut it up into smaller pieces.  I think next time I will shred the zucchini and make it into a casserole like dish.  Live and learn!

I have to admit, I am getting tired of all the cooking and dishes, but that comes with the territory.  I think it was challenging for me to prepare dinner today in between appointments.  I had to prep part in the morning, part in the afternoon, and bake it when I got home. 

I did make a grocery store run and it was kind of cool to look in my cart and see only veggies and dried fruit that I found that did not have added sugar (wow, you really pay more to make sure the legal crack is not hanging out with your dried cranberries).  It is a good feeling to know that day 4 is in the bag.  I am worn out.  Going to take a shower and go to bed.

2 thoughts on “Day 4 – A Little Better!

  1. I have to say again that I’m so glad you’re getting the daily emails. I was about to comment and say food dreams are totally normal, but you already read that, yay! How sweet of your mom to be worried, but it really is part of program. I can’t say enough how important fat is! Get yourself some coconut shavings (without added sugar of course), (it’s surprisingly affordable in the bulk aisle at Natural grocers) to have as “dessert”. Also, Avocado is great (as you already know) and if you haven’t tried Ghee yet, put that on your next shopping list! Glad you are feeling a little better!

    • Thanks girl! Great idea with the coconut shavings! I will have to try that! I do love me some Ghee! I went to Natural Grocers and got some avocados today! Yes, my body is telling me how important fats are! 🙂

Leave a Reply

