Day 5 – More improvement!

I was able to sleep soundly and get out of bed without a problem when my alarm went off this morning – huge progress compared to the last few days.  The brain fog/flu-ish symptoms are minimal today.  I have to admit, I did get a little tired again about an 1 1/2 after I got up, but this is better than before (maybe a nap is in my future).  Oh, and I didn’t have any crazy food dreams last night.  🙂

Here is another great benefit that I am experiencing, though most people don’t like to talk about; but I am having regular BMs (around the same time each day) and feel like I am getting rid of more now.  This is one of the ways the body eliminates toxins, so I think this is a great benefit from the Whole30.  Yay for fiber!  Eat Your Veggies!

Breakfast – Leftover Pork & Veggie Hash (yay for leftovers!)

Lunch – Zucchini Lasagna Leftovers.  I ended up putting it on a plate for serving, which made it much easier to cut up and eat.  I also ended the meal by eating some coconut flakes (thanks Kim) to make sure I get my healthy fats in!  Seriously, if I don’t eat enough fat, I can tell, and not in a good way.

I actually had some energy to take a 30-minute walk this afternoon (which is a big deal for me).  I am recovering from major surgery and severe adrenal fatigue, so these moments when I feel like being active are precious to me.  I got a little tired halfway through, but made it.  I started to realize that I was getting hungry again way before dinner time and remember that since I exercised (and walking is big exercise for me right now) that I needed a snack.  I had organic celery with a little raw almond butter and felt much better afterwards. 

Dinner – Mocha Steak (Dallas & Melissa’s Recipe) from “It Starts With Food” and Kids Love Cabbage Slaw from “Everyday Paleo”

Image

Image

Image

Okay, I got over halfway done with my meal and forgot to take a pic.  I was that hungry.  🙂

You can find the mocha steak recipe here: http://www.naturallyleah.com/food/whole-30-week-one-recipes/

Cabbage Slaw is here: http://www.farrcleanerlife.com/2012/12/everyday-paleos-kids-love-cabbage-slaw.html

I left out the coffee from the mocha steak due to my adrenal fatigue.  I stopped all caffeine for over 6 months now to not artificially stimulate my adrenals.  It was a decision I made with the help of my nutritionist, Jessica Drummond, and I will follow it until my adrenals are in a healthy place again. 

Both turned out to be really good!  I am making these again! 

PS: After several days of soaking the crockpot, the darn burnt pieces will not come off!  I have even tried a pumice rock with no luck!  So I did some research and found it was recommended to apply a large amount of baking soda, a little soap, and water to cover the burned area, and place in the crockpot to heat for 2-4 hours.  Verdict: It works!  Eureka! 

Leave a Reply

