Day 10 – Made it to the double digits!

Day 10 is here, which means 20 more days.  I’m 1/3 of the way through the whole30!  So far, I’ve noticed that I am still very tired.  I have been going to bed early and taking a little nap during the day if possible.  Still having some cramps, which I think are due to the detox.  Today, I noticed more sugar cravings, especially for dark chocolate.  I am avoiding Pintrest at the moment to prevent seeing dessert recipes.  I have also been hiding dessert pictures on my Facebook feed.  This journey is challenging.  🙂

Breakfast – Leftover Egg Muffins and Sweet Potato Hash

Lunch – Paleo Chicken Salad with Spinach

Dinner – Leftover Zucchini Salad…I finally finished it off!

Will probably go to bed early tonight again.  Even with that nap this afternoon, I still feel tired.  One positive benefit I have noticed since starting the whole30 is that I now fall asleep fast and sleep sounder!  That’s a nice bonus! 

I am currently reading Lights Out: Sleep, Sugar, and Survival by T. S. Wiley and Bent Formby (it was recommended on the whole30 daily newsletter) and realizing how important sleep is to our overall health.  I find it fascinating that they link lack of sleep to sugar cravings, diabetes, cancer, and many other health issues.  A great book you should check out if you are interested on the subject.  I was pleasantly surprised it was available at my local library.  Upon its recommendations, I am striving for 9.5 hours of sleep each night, which means I have to give up the temptation of the television and go to bed earlier to get those extra ZZZ’s in. 

Leave a Reply

