Day 23 – One more week to go!

Wow, I am one week away from completing the Whole30 challenge!  Yahoo!  Today, woke up not feeling so great (female problems), so I have been taking things very easy.  This afternoon, when I was finally doing a little better, I came up with a meal plan for the week: paleo meatloaf, veggie hash with grass-fed beef, pumpkin soup, tuna salad, bone broth, and walnut pesto with spaghetti squash.  I will be cooking a little more this week because we are going out-of-town for doctor’s appointments, and I will need to have meals with me for the road trip. 

Breakfast – My sweet potato, green apple, and egg hash with cinnamon.  I love it! 

Lunch – Leftover chocolate chili with spinach and avocado.  This stuff is even better as leftovers.  So good!

Dinner – Apple Cinnamon Pork Chops (take two, without the burnt parts this time).  🙂  I follow a similar recipe to Sarah Fragoso’s Apple Shallot Pork Chops from Everyday Paleo.  http://everydaypaleo.com/hog-heaven/

I rubbed cinnamon and sea salt on the pork chops, then seared them in a skillet with coconut oil for about 2 minutes on each side.  I forgot to sear them last time, and it really does make a difference in flavor…so worth it!  I pureed 1 apple with a little water and some cinnamon in the blender and put that at the bottom of the crock pot.  Then I placed the seared pork chops in the crock pot.  I diced up two apples and added that on top of the pork chops.  Then I sprinkled more cinnamon on top of everything and left it on low.  This is one of my husband’s favorites!  I love it too!  Pork chops do love apples.  🙂

Image

Image

I am on the hunt for a fun t-shirt to purchase to reward myself for making it through the Whole30.  Here are some of my favorites so far:

Image

Image

 

Image

Image

It’s going to be a tough decision to pick one.  Which one is your favorite?  🙂

2 thoughts on “Day 23 – One more week to go!

  1. I’m so proud of you (and a little jealous of your willpower), can’t believe there’s only a week left!!
    Oh, and I like the bacon one!!

    • Thanks Kim! Cancer is a big motivator for me. I never want that tumor to return ever again. I just wish it didn’t take a cancer diagnosis to wake me up and finally start listening to my body and taking care of myself.

Leave a Reply

