Dat 25 – A little inspiration!

5 days to go!  I can’t believe it.  It has gone by fast!  Today was a productive day.  We are getting ready to go on a road trip, which means I need to cook some food to talk along the journey.  Today, I made paleo meatloaf and finished the bone broth.  I also cut all the veggies for the pumpkin soup so that tomorrow I can just throw it all in the slow cooker and let that do the work for me.  🙂

A friend shared this video on her Facebook page, and I found it very inspiring and wanted to share it with you!  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lp7E973zozc

Breakfast – My Sweet Potato Hash Special  🙂  (sweet potato, scrambled egg, ghee, diced pears, and cinnamon)

Lunch – Finished off the last of the Chocolate Chili.  That was so good, and I am definitely making it again.  It’s my new favorite chili recipe.  http://www.theclothesmakethegirl.com/2009/02/22/my-favorite-chili-recipe/

Dinner – Paleo Meatloaf with Mushrooms Sauteed in Coconut Oil.  Here is the recipe for the meatloaf.  I found it on Pintrest.  http://www.theclothesmakethegirl.com/2009/02/22/my-favorite-chili-recipe/

Image

 

This meatloaf turned out very good.  My husband gave it 9/10 stars and ate every crumb.  That’s high praise!  🙂Image

It is very filling.  You don’t need much to fill up.  I love how this recipe includes a 1/4 can of full fat coconut milk.  Yum!  I had my first casualty on the whole30 this evening and cut my thumb while slicing mushrooms.  I made the mistake of dicing a jalapeno without gloves on prior to slicing the mushrooms, so the cut burns.  Ouch!  Looks like I won’t be texting very quickly until this heals.  🙂 

I wanted to add that, while cooking, I listened to The Gluten Summit, which is a series of lectures from my different professionals regarding the effects of gluten on our health.  I was shocked to hear that whole wheat bread has a VERY high glycemic index.  In fact, 2 slices of whole wheat bread will cause a larger insulin spike than eating a tablespoon of sugar or eating a Snickers candy bar.  Wow!  A cardiologist started asking his patients to remove wheat from their diet, and not only did their heart health improve, but they lost weight, their arthritis pain went away, and they felt great!  They blame the diabetes crisis on grains, and the USDA Food Pyramid is telling us we should get 6 + servings of grains a day!  Eat grains with every meal!?!  Is that a conspiracy I’m smelling?  Hmmm….food for thought.

2 thoughts on “Dat 25 – A little inspiration!

Leave a Reply

